First time buyer

Discuss which cars to get, where to get them from, tricks and traps to avoid, insurance... Also, great place for First time Car Buyers in UAE!

Moderator: azi malik

First time buyer

Postby kevinjohn on Sun May 02, 2010 7:31 pm

Hi!

I am new to Dubai and this forum and would really appreciate any help from this forum.

I am thinking of getting a car in Dubai sometime in July. Intend to use the car for 3 years. Good resale value. Have a family of 4 + 1 maid. Mostly onroad. Good safety features

Please advise on the following questions:
Is it better to get a new car or a used car? (considering using for 3 years)
I like the flexibility of packing more people in the car especially when there are guests. What would be the most suitable car in Dubai?

I am thinking of the BMW X5 with 7 seats. Not sure if this is the car with good resale value and value for money in Dubai. Much as I like the brand as I am drive one now, are there other cars that are better or offer better value for money?

Hope to hear from all kind souls out there. Cheers!
kevinjohn

My Ride: BMW 318i Touring
My Profession: Chef
My Dream Ride: BMW X7

Re: First time buyer

Postby root on Sun May 02, 2010 8:30 pm

Kevin,
Welcome to the forums!

Given you need a 7 seater your options are limited.
The only ones with good resale value are the Japanese makes, and among them the Toyota Land Cruisers and Prados, the Nissan Patrols among the better. Then you have the Mitsibushi Pajero (but its a real step down from a BMW X5). You also have the Nissan Armada, and the Lexus and Infiniti variants of the above.

Among the other European options you have Audi Q7 and Range Rover/Land Rover. Both have bad resale. If you go for any of these I'd go for atleast a year old to cushion the max depreciation.

You then have the American variants, but they are dismal in resale. I'm yet to ever recommend any of these :)