2008 Mondeo

Discuss which cars to get, where to get them from, tricks and traps to avoid, insurance... Also, great place for First time Car Buyers in UAE!

Moderator: azi malik

2008 Mondeo

Postby oscarlimatango on Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:04 am

Hey people, Noob here!

So i as looking for a car, I am one of those that really wants everything but dont have enough dough to buy it, so i went looking for a midsize. Now there is the Accord, Camry, Altima, Mazda 6.....and I have looked at each and every one of them...and then out of no where i decided to go to a ford showroom and I was stunned when i saw the gorgeous new Ford Mondeo.

So for all the haters that think resale value is the only valid criteria to buy a car, and ford is a peice of s**t, please convince me why should I not buy the fully loaded mondoe for the same price as an entry level Accord, Altima, Camry or a Mazda 6? Now couple of things to keep in mind about my preferances:

Long term commitment to buy and keep the car for atleast 6 years.

Dont want a car that would be outdated in 3 years, and dont have AED110,000 to shell on the fully loaded jepanese modles.

I like all the gizmos in a car.

I dont drive alot....no long trips.

I dont want a car that evey tom xxxx and harry has.

With that said, any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks and hope to hear some sound, conclusive arguments without prejudice towards american mods.
oscarlimatango
Cruiser
Cruiser

My Ride: something really slick!
My Profession: Aviation
My Dream Ride: Nissan Evolution!

Re: 2008 Mondeo

Postby root on Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:47 pm

Great first post!
Go for the Mondeo, is what I would say.

The only negatives you already know, but if you plan to keep for 6 years you are fine.
Plus, the 5 year warranty that Ford gives these days really gives peace of mind. You will know what your costs will be for for oil changes + tires every 50k kms.